A Digital Portfolio…What? Who Me?

An e-portfolio (electronic portfolio) is an electronic collection of evidence that shows your learning journey over time.

A portfolio relates to specific academic fields or my lifelong learning. Evidence may include writing samples, photos, videos, research projects, observations by mentors and peers, and/or reflective thinking.

The key aspect of an e-portfolio is your reflection on the evidence, such as why it was chosen and what you learned from the process of developing your e-portfolio.

(Adapted from Philippa Butler’s “Review of the Literature on Portfolios and Eportfolios.” 2006, p. 2.)

So, I am now also developing my own digital portfolio online…me…”don’t know much about I.T – me”.. What will they make me do next to help me become a better educator?

I originally thought that I wouldn’t have too much to share in my portfolio. Being a full time mum and uni student, that is, didn’t have too many letters after my name either. So, I resorted to another learning assignment, and that being mind mapping which I have posted a blog about beforehand.

Once I started to “map” out my life I realised I was only partially boring and not completely “coma-like” boring.logoAitsl300111-1

This mind map has allowed me to explore my professional life and career previously, my personal interests (which again are limited) and the projects that I have been apart of.

It also allowed me to realise my potential using the National Professional Standards for Teachers. Yes, my 17 years as a primary school teacher did come with experience and qualifications but putting that all down in a digital portfolio was an interesting assignment.

If you are curious to learn more about  a “partially boring mother of 3 who used to teach” then please visit my Digital Portfolio site:

www.webclasscommunity.weebly.com

Leave a comment

Filed under DIGITAL PORTFOLIO, Electronic Learning Space, mind map, mind mapping, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

